About the Department

Student Announcements

Events & Seminars

  • November 22: Biology and Mathematics in the Bay Area (BaMBA); Giedt Hall room 1002

  • December 3 at 4:10 pm: Dr. Jacqueline Barlow, Life Sciences room 1022


  • The Department of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics is proud to welcome 4 new faculty members: (more…)


  • Selection for Growth on 3-Nitrotoluene by 2-Nitrotoluene-Utilizing Acidovorax sp. Strain JS42 Identifies Nitroarene Dioxygenases with Altered Specificities. [Parales]
  • Alteration of NCoR corepressor splicing in mice causes increased body weight and hepatosteatosis without glucose intolerance. [Privalsky]
  • Replication initiation and genome instability: a crossroads for DNA and RNA synthesis. [Barlow]

Awards & Fellowships

  • Duy Tran, an undergraduate working in Dr. Lifeng Xu’s lab for the past 2 years, was awarded the CBS 2014 Undergraduate Student of the Year. This award is given annually to a graduating senior in recognition of outstanding academic achievement, participation in significant research activities, and involvement in the campus and community. Congratulations!

  • Trevor Croft (Lin Lab) was selected to receive a 2014 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) Fellowship that will provide him with 3 years of stipend support. Congratulations!