The American Math Society is celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month with Lathisms (Latin@s and Hispanics in the Mathematical Sciences), by showcasing one Mathematician every day from September 15th through October 15th.  Dr. Mariel Vazquez was showcased on September 16th. (more…)

Congratulations to Katy Ralston and Sean Collins on being selected for the 2016-2017 UC Davis Hellman Fellowship Awards.

Congratulations to Katy Ralston on being named 2016 Pew scholar in the biomedical sciences by the Pew Charitable Trusts. (more…)

Amanda Fox, an Immunology Graduate Group student in Lorena Navarro’s Lab, has been awarded the 2015-16 Outstanding Graduate Student Award for the course BIS2A. Congratulations!

The National Blackwell-Tapia Committee is pleased to announce that the 2016 Blackwell-Tapia Prize will be awarded to Mariel Vazquez, a professor in the departments of mathematics and of microbiology and molecular genetics at the University of California, Davis. (more…)

Congratulations to Lifeng Xu for her promotion to Associate Professor effective July 1, 2016. The department is proud of her success obtaining tenure at the University of California, Davis.

Professor Neil Hunter is elected Fellow in the American Academy of Microbiology. Congratulations! (more…)

13 UC Davis Discoveries That Changed Our World, including one from our department (more…)

Congratulations to Drs. Jacqueline Barlow and Miriam Martin who have each been named a National Academies Education Fellow in the Life Sciences for the 2015-2016 academic year. Both Jacqueline and Miriam were selected to and enthusiastically participated in the 2015 National Academies West Coast Summer Institute on Undergraduate Science Education that was held July 13-18, at the University of Oregon.

Congratulations to undergraduate researchers Kavita Dutta (Collins Lab), Jennifer Liang (Singer Lab) and Hui-shun (Nestor) Huang (Xu Lab), recipients of this year’s Schilling Undergraduate Research Award! The award is given to to undergraduates within the College of Biological Sciences who have demonstrated excellent research and investigative ability in a current lab assignment, are collaborative, and possess a great attitude.

More »