Congratulations to Professor Neil Hunter and Chris Nosala (Graduate Student with Professor Scott Dawson) for being awarded the Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Research/Mentoring Undergraduate Research. [Article]  Two out of four 2018 awards went to the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics showing our dedication to mentoring undergraduate students in research.

Congratulations to Priya Shah for being awarded the Murray B Gardner Junior Faculty Research Fellowship from the Center for Comparative Medicine, to establish a zebrafish model to unravel mechanisms of Zika virus-associated microcephaly.

Passion for Research Leads to Baskin Award for Benjamin Mallory [Article]

Professor Michele Igo receives 2016-17 College of Biological Sciences Faculty Teaching Award. (more…)

Congratulations to Sean Collins on being named 2017 Kimmel Scholar. The Kimmel Scholar Award is given to 15 of the nation’s most promising young researchers leading the fight against cancer. The 2017 awards represent the final class of Kimmel Scholars. [Article]

Professor Emeritus JaRue Manning received the 2017 UC Davis Distinguished Emeritus Award. (more…)

Noelle Cabral and Rudy Gallegos, undergraduate students working in Dr. Wolf-Dietrich Heyer’s laboratory, received the 2016-17 Stanley and Jacqueline Schilling Award. Congratulations!

Natalie Sahabandu, an undergraduate student working in Dr. Katherine Ralstons’s lab, was awarded a President’s Undergraduate Fellowship for 2016-17.

Jagdeep Toor, an undergraduate student working in Dr. Sean Collins’s lab, was awarded a President’s Undergraduate Fellowship for 2016-17.

Mariel Vazquez Receives Nation’s Top Math Prize at Blackwell-Tapia [Article]

More »