Commodore St. Germain, a Biochemistry Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology (BMCDB) Graduate Group student in the Barlow lab, was awarded a Ruth L. Kirchstein NRSA predoctoral fellowship from the National Cancer Institute. Congratulations Commodore!

Katherine Ralston wins 2017 American Society of Microbiology ICAAC Young Investigator Award (more…)

Congratulations to Katy Ralston and Sean Collins on being selected for the 2016-2017 UC Davis Hellman Fellowship Awards.

Amanda Fox, an Immunology Graduate Group student in Lorena Navarro’s Lab, has been awarded the 2015-16 Outstanding Graduate Student Award for the course BIS2A. Congratulations!

Congratulations to undergraduate researchers Kavita Dutta (Collins Lab), Jennifer Liang (Singer Lab) and Hui-shun (Nestor) Huang (Xu Lab), recipients of this year’s Schilling Undergraduate Research Award! The award is given to to undergraduates within the College of Biological Sciences who have demonstrated excellent research and investigative ability in a current lab assignment, are collaborative, and possess a great attitude.

Congratulations to Briana Gregg, a first year BMCDB graduate student in Professor Sean Collins laboratory who was awarded the highly competitive Floyd and Mary Schwall Fellowship in Medical Research for the 2015-18 academic years. (more…)

George Bell, a first year BMCDB graduate student in Professor Sean Collins’ laboratory, receives the prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship 2014-15. Congratulations! (more…)

Congratulations to Trevor Croft (Lin Lab) and Sucheta Mukherjee (Heyer Lab) who were awarded a 2015-16 Dean’s Mentorship Award, which provides support to graduate students who have demonstrated excellence in the mentorship of undergraduate students, and additional funding to support the research of the undergraduates who are being mentored by that graduate student.

Distinguished Professor John Roth receives Lifetime Achievement Award from American Society for Microbiology (ASM).  Professor Roth will be honored at the 115th ASM General Meeting in New Orleans May 30 РJune 2, 2015.  Congratulations!

Dr. Jie Liu, Assistant Project Scientist in Professor Wolf-Dietrich Heyer’s laboratory, received an R21 award from the National Cancer Institute to elucidate the structure and function of the breast and ovarian cancer tumor suppressor protein BRCA2. The project involves high-resolution electron microscopy in collaboration with Professor Jawdat Al-Bassam from the Department of Molecular & Cellular Biology. Congratulations!

More »